

#### Academic Senate

College of the Siskiyous 800 College Avenue Weed, CA 96094

www.siskiyous.edu/academicsenate/

## **Academic Senate Executive Meeting Minutes**

September 26, 2019 (Convened at 8:00 am) in DLC Rm #4

**Attendees:** Jayne Turk (President), Mike Tischler (Vice President), Andrea Craddock (Secretary), Ed Kephart (At Large), and Chris Vancil (Past President)

# A. Approval of Minutes

Minutes were approved.

### **B.** Discussion and Action Items

Senate Presidents – Jayne met with the President of CSEA Senate, Donna Farris, and the President of ASM Senate, Doug Haugen. They discussed working together this academic year.

## **❖** Senate Goals 2019 - 2020

- Shared Governance Resolution (Mike Graves & Maria Fernandez)
- Review Faculty Policies
- Create Faculty Hiring Procedures
  - Jayne asked if newly announced positions for hire had gone through the IPB committee for approval. Dr. Schoonmaker responded that once the IPB passes the budget then budget managers have discretion to spend their budget as they wish.
  - 2. Given this reasoning, Dr. Perlas should have ultimate authority to hire new faculty members
  - 3. It was discussed that there may not be a need for faculty to participate in IPB once the budget has been set.
- ❖ <u>SLO Manual</u> Dr. Perlas spoke to someone at ACCJC who indicated that course grades cannot be used to determine if someone successfully passed a SLO unless the instructor clearly shows how each element that makes up that grade maps to each SLO.
  - Mike thought it would be helpful to clarify the exact comments Dr. Perlas heard from the ACCJC representative
  - Jayne sent out an email to the faculty to show them how to link each course assignment to a SLO

<u>Academic Senate Officers</u>:

President: Jayne Turk Secretary: Andrea Craddock At Large: Maria Fernandez Vice-President: Mike Tischler At-Large: Ed Kephart

Past President: Chris Vancil

Revise Academic Senate constitution to reflect changes in part-time representative and election processes — This constitutional change has already had a first reading. We'll bring these changes to the next Academic Senate meeting for a second reading.

C. Adjourned 8:55 am

<u>Academic Senate Officers</u>:

President: Jayne Turk Secretary: Andrea Craddock At Large: Maria Fernandez

Vice-President: Mike Tischler At-Large: Ed Kephart Past President: Chris Vancil

<u>Academic Senate Officers</u>:

President: Jayne Turk Secretary: Andrea Craddock

At Large: Maria Fernandez

Vice-President: Mike Tischler

At-Large: Ed Kephart Past President: Chris Vancil