

Academic Senate

College of the Siskiyous 800 College Avenue Weed, CA 96094

www.siskiyous.edu/academicsenate/

Academic Senate Executive Meeting Minutes

October 10, 2019 (Convened at 8:05 am) in DLC Rm #4

Attendees: Jayne Turk (President), Mike Tischler (Vice President), Andrea Craddock (Secretary), Ed Kephart (At Large), Maria Fernandez (At Large), and Chris Vancil (Past President)

A. Approval of Minutes

Minutes were approved.

B. Discussion and Action Items

- Debrief from the Board Meeting Academic Senate presented our Participatory Governance resolution at the Board Meeting.
 - At the same board meeting, Dr. Schoonmaker mentioned an updated Participatory Governance document. He has said that he will present this document to constituent groups and bring it to the Board for final approval in January.
 - Senate Exec has some issues with the Participatory Governance document presented by the President. It was suggested to send this document to outside agencies for their perspective.
- ❖ A Look for Next Steps (https://www.thecoastnews.com/state-budget-crisis-agencyto-probe-palomar-college)
 - In order for an audit to occur, the President and the Board need to invite someone from the Fiscal Crisis and Management Assistance Team to audit our budget. If the budget crisis continues, we may want to bring this topic up later.
 - Participatory Governance Jayne will send out to all faculty members that updated Participatory Governance document presented by Dr. Schoonmaker.
 - Academic Senate will call an emergency meeting to discuss this document.
 - 2. Mike Tischler motioned that blue forms must be filled out by non-Academic Senate members in order to be heard during the meeting. Maria seconded. Motion passed.

Academic Senate Officers:

President: Jayne Turk

Secretary: Andrea Craddock

At Large: Maria Fernandez

Vice-President: Mike Tischler

At-Large: Ed Kephart

Past President: Chris Vancil

C. Adjourned 8:45 am

Academic Senate Officers:

President: Jayne Turk Secretary: Andrea Craddock At Large: Maria Fernandez

Vice-President: Mike Tischler

At-Large: Ed Kephart Past President: Chris Vancil

<u>Academic Senate Officers</u>:

President: Jayne Turk Secretary: Andrea Craddock

At Large: Maria Fernandez

Vice-President: Mike Tischler

At-Large: Ed Kephart Past President: Chris Vancil