College of the Siskiyous



COS Home

Site Index

 

 

 

Prospective Students   Current Students    Faculty and Staff      Alumni and Community              
English Department              
      

Introduction

     The study of English at COS builds capabilities needed for success in most fields. Employers are interested not only in the skills implied by the degree -- creating, drafting, rewriting, editing, classifying, explaining, and interpreting -- but also in the professional potential possessed by an applicant who brings such skills to an organization. Students with a Bachelor's Degree in English can pursue careers in any profession that requires strong communication skills. In addition, Students with a Bachelor's Degree in English can pursue a teaching credential for either elementary or secondary schools; they can also specialize in English as a Second Language, Reading, or Special Education. Teaching at the community college level requires a Master's Degree, while Universities prefer the Ph. D degree. For those who seek adventure, opportunities to teach English in foreign countries abound.

     The COS English Department is committed to providing students with exceptional learning experiences, learning experiences that will stay with them the rest of their lives. Courses are designed to provide majors and non-majors with solid foundations in grammar, composition, literature, creative writing, and communication. Dedication, innovation, and creativity are just some of the words that describe the faculty and the courses they teach. To learn more about individual faculty members and the courses they teach, we invite you to explore the links that follow.

divider

The English Program

     The English program at College of the Siskiyous provides training in analytical, communicative, and writing skills necessary for a number of professions. English majors have a good background for careers in teaching, journalism, technical writing, free lance writing, telecommunications, editing, magazine or book publishing, book marketing and distribution, advertising, law, business, and corporate communication. The English major prepares students for careers requiring strong communication skills, organizational abilities, and critical thinking skills. The English curriculum also academically prepares the student to transfer to a 4-year university to complete a Baccalaureate degree in a related discipline. Please check with a counselor for specific transfer requirements.

ASSOCIATE OF ARTS MAJOR REQUIREMENTS  
     ENGL 1A – College Composition......................................... 3
     ENGL 1B – Adv. Composition-Literature............................. 3
     ENGL 44A – American Literature I........................................ 3
     ENGL 44B – American Literature II....................................... 3
     ENGL 46A – British Literature I.............................................. 3
     ENGL 46B – British Literature II............................................. 3
     Complete one of the following courses: ................................ 3

ENGL 1C – Adv. Comp-Critical Thinking (3)
ENGL 12 – Folklore (3)
ENGL 18 – Creative Writing (3)
ENGL 28 – Women’s Literature (3)
ENGL 36 – Children’s Literature (3)
ENGL 38 – Multicultural Communication (3)
ENGL 45 – African-American Literature (3)
ENGL 47 – Ethnic Literature in America (3)
ENGL 48 – Native American Literature (3)

 
Total Units....................................................................................... 21

divider

Your Instructors

name courses contact office
Marlys Cordoba READ 10 College Reading
READ 61 Basic Reading Skills
cordoba@siskiyous.edu
phone: 938-5884
LRC 1
Maria Fernandez ENGL 1A College Composition
ENGL 1C Advanced Composition
ENGL 18 Creative Writing
HUM 1 Intro to Humanities
fernandez@siskiyous.edu
phone: 938-5268

McCloud Hall 108

Steve Reynolds ENGL 1A College Composition
ENGL 1C Advanced Composition
ENGL 44A/B American Lit I/II
reynolds@siskiyous.edu
phone: 938-5554
McCloud Hall 101C
Eve Thompson ENGL 1A College Composition
ENGL 1C Advanced Composition
ENGL 21 Writing for Publication

ENGL 38 Multicultural Communication
ENGL 46A/B British Literature I/II
thompson@siskiyous.edu
phone: 938-5322
McCloud Hall 106
Michelle Van Aalst ENGL 52 Fundamentals of Comp
ENGL 96 Basic Writing Skills
vanaalst@siskiyous.edu
phone: 938-5264
McCloud Hall 107
Mike Beals ENGL 599 Life Story Writing    
Tina Fredette ENGL 90 English as a Second Language
READ 62 Fundamentals of Reading
fredette@siskiyous.edu  
Carly Furry ENGL 70 Writing Lab (ASC) furry@siskiyous.edu Writing Lab
Judd Hanna ENGL 1A College Composition
ENGL 70 Writing Lab (Yreka)
Hanna@siskiyous.edu Yreka Lab
Sue Lindgard ENGL 1C Advanced Composition
ENGL 70 Writing Lab (Yreka)
lindgard@siskiyous.edu Yreka Lab
Donna May ENGL 599 Life Story Writing
   
Jaclyn McNamara ENGL 1A College Composition
ENGL 70 (Writing Lab (ASC)
mcnamara@siskiyous.edu Writing Lab
Michael Roesch ENGL 12 Folklore roesch@siskiyous.edu (online)
Victoria Sansome ENGL 1C Advanced Composition vickieucb@yahoo.com (online)
Becky Stein ENGL 91 Basic English Skills stein@siskiyous.edu  
Riba Taylor ENGL 1A College Composition
ENGL 18 Creative Writing
taylor@siskiyous.edu  (online)
Charlie Unkefer ENGL 18 Creative Writing
ENGL 70 (Writing Lab (ASC)
unkefer@siskiyous.edu
phone: 938-5325
Writing Lab
Tricia Weldon ENGL 1A College Composition
ENGL 45 African-American Lit
weldon@siskiyous.edu
phone: 938-5283
 

divider

Adminstration

name title email phone
Barry Russell Vice President, Instruction russell@siskiyous.edu 938-5201
Vickie Donaldson Administrative Assistant, Office of Instruction donaldson@siskiyous.edu 938-5201
Beatriz Vasquez Dean, Liberal Arts and Sciences Division vasquez@siskiyous.edu 938-5375
Sheila Grimes Administrative Assistant, Liberal Arts and Sciences Division grimes@siskiyous.edu 938-5375
Marlys Cordoba Chair, Modern Languages Department cordoba@siskiyous.edu 938-5884

divider

Related Areas:

divider


Please send any comments or questions about this site to Hostmaster.
© 2009 College of the Siskiyous. All rights reserved.