Return to Geologic Processes page

Geology of Mount Shasta

Figure 17

Return to Mount Shasta home page
Figure 17: Generalized geologic map of Mount Shasta after Christiansen (1982). The locations of the vents for the mountain's four major cones are labelled: S = Sargents Ridge; M = Misery Hill; Sh = Shastina; and H = Hotlum. The towns on the mountain's western and southern flanks are: W = Weed; MS = Mount Shasta; and MC = McCloud. Stars (*) mark small flank vents for basaltic and andesitic lavas. (Click on the map to load a larger image.)

Geology ~ Environment ~ Native Americans ~ Folklore ~ History ~ Art ~ Literature
Recreation ~ Maps ~ Mount Shasta Collection ~ Bibliography ~ Lesson Plans ~ About Project