COS Mountain Logo

COS Mountain LogoHome Class Schedule Apply mySiskiyous Canvas Menu Search

Instruction Council

The Instruction Council meets to discuss and develop the goals and direction for the instructional program of the College in order to provide a quality education. The Council works to advance the career/technical, transfer, and basic skills mission of the College. Although the Council engages in broad-based discussions of how this mission can be accomplished, it also:

  • Assists the Vice President, Instruction in developing and administering the instructional program of the College
  • Makes recommendations to the Vice President, Instruction concerning instructional issues
  • Reviews all policies and procedures dealing with the academic program of the College prior to review by College Council
  • Provides guidance in the development of the catalogue and academic calendar
  • Provides guidance in matters dealing with support services to instruction
  • Assists in providing direction to the education programs of the College


20-21 Instruction Council membership consists of:

Mark Klever, Interim Vice President of Academic Affairs (Chair)
Jude Baldwin, Library Faculty
Vacant, Curriculum Chair
Neil Carpentier-Alting, LAS Faculty and Vice President of the Academic Senate
Wenli Chang, LAS Faculty
Dr. Andrea Craddock, LAS Faculty
Nancy Miller, incoming Academic Programs Analyst
Athena Oreck, Student Support Specialist, Admissions and Records
Christina Van Alfen, Interim Dean, CTE
Debbie Dutcher, CTE Administrative Assistant III
Valerie Roberts, Interim Dean of Liberal Arts and Student Success
Charlie Roche, Director of Athletics
Hallie Coppi MSN RN, Director of Nursing
Dr. Nathan Rexford, Director of Institutional Research


The 20-21 committee is scheduled to meet the first and third Thursdays from 12:00 - 2:00 pm.

Agendas, Notes, and Related Documents

From November 9, 2012 to May 1, 2014, Instruction Council met as part of Student Learning Council.