

Academic Senate

College of the Siskiyous 800 College Avenue Weed, CA 96094

www.siskiyous.edu/academicsenate/

Academic Senate Meeting Minutes

April 1, 2019 (Convened at 3:30 pm) in DLC Rm #3 (Weed Campus) and Bldg. 4 Rm #5 (Yreka Campus)

Attendees: Shawn Abbott, David Blink, Rhonda Brown, Liz Carlyle, Dave Clarke, Hallie Coppi, Andrea Craddock, Marcy Demetro, Maria Fernandez, Katie Gale, Sunny Greene, Jenny Heath, Ed Kephart, Ann Klein, Michelle Knudsen, Tom Powers, Mike Read, Charlie Roche, Ron Slabbinck, Patrice Thatcher-Stephens, Mike Tischler, Jayne Turk, and Alison Varty. Dr. Zachary Zweigle, Sarah Kirby, and Sherry Ackermann were also in attendance.

A. No Public Comment

B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

a. Mike Read moved to approve minutes. Jenny Heath seconded. Motion passed.

C. Announcements:

a. Congratulations!!

Probationary Faculty Renewals

Blink, David Music Instructor, third contract, issue for 2019-20/2020-21
Carlyle, Elizabeth English Instructor, second contract, issue for 2019-20

Gale, Katherine Political Science Instructor, third contract, issue for 2019-20/2020-21

Harper, Karen Nursing Instructor, second contract, issue for 2019-20

Kephart, Edward Kinesiology Instructor/Head Men's and Women's Coach, Grant Tenure, effective 2019-20

Knudsen, Michelle Counselor, Grant Tenure, effective 2019-20 Louie, Shirley Math Instructor, Grant Tenure, effective 2019-20

Wilson, Michael Fire Instructor/Coordinator, Grant Tenure, effective 2019-20

D. Action / Discussion Items

a. Election updates – who is running for next year?

- i. Jayne Turk has a presidential tenure for two years so she will be president again next year. Andrea Craddock, Ron Slabbinck, Ed Kephart, and Katie Gale also indicated that they will run again this year.
- First reading of proposed constitutional change regarding part-time elections. We decided to table these proposed changes until the next Academic Senate meeting scheduled for Friday, April 19th.
- c. Graduation! Line Leaders? Faculty Readers? Alison Varty and Sunny Greene volunteered to be line leaders. Patrice Thatcher-Stephens and Katie Gale volunteered to be faculty readers. Maria Fernandez moved to accept these volunteers, David Clarke seconded. Motion passed.

Academic Senate Officers:

President: Jayne Turk Vice-President: Neil Carpentier-Alting

Secretary: Andrea Craddock At-Large: Katie Gale
At Large: Ed Kephart At Large: Ron Slabbinck

- **d. Next year committee appointments.** Jayne asked that faculty members consider what committees they would like to be on next year.
- e. If you are using OER next semester, it needs to be so noted in the schedule. The Chancellor's Office has stated that any course using OER must be notated in the schedule. Katie is the OER representative. Please email Katie this week if you are considering adding OER resources to your courses and she'll notify Elaine.
- **f. Minors taking classes--*** Starting in the fall semester, minors will be noted on the roster with an asterisk.
- **g. Under 16 policy needs revision.** Jayne suggested we compile a list of restricted courses that should not have minors enrolled in them.
 - **i.** There is an area in eLumen where you can put additional information such as noted restrictions for the course.
- **h.** Faculty Hiring Priorities Dr. Zweigle suggested that faculty members try to attend the IPB meeting on April 12th to advocate for resources and new faculty hires.
 - i. Dave Clarke suggested that we start submitting CQIPs in September and October so that it better aligns with the budgetary process.
- i. Institutional Master Plan (IMP) request for faculty reviewers. Motion was made to adopt a resolution that faculty was not substantially included in the IMP process and the current document reflects lack of shared governance. It was noted that previous twelve member IMP committees included ten faculty members, whereas this IMP committee contained no faculty members. Motion seconded and passed.

E. Closed Session

a. No motions were put forward.

F. Adjournment

a. Meeting adjourned at 4:30 pm.

<u>Academic Senate Officers:</u>

President: Jayne Turk Secretary: Andrea Craddock At Large: Ed Kephart

At-Large: Katie Gale At Large: Ron Slabbinck

Vice-President: Neil Carpentier-Alting