

Academic Senate College of the Siskiyous 800 College Avenue Weed, CA 96094 www.siskiyous.edu/academicsenate/

Academic Senate Meeting Minutes

February 25, 2020 (Convened at 3:00 pm) in DLC Rm #3 (Weed Campus) and RHSI Rm #119 (Yreka Campus)

Attendees: Jude Baldwin, Liz Carlyle, Wenli Chang, Hallie Coppi, Andrea Craddock, Marcy Demetro, Maria Fernandez, Katie Gale, Michelle Knudsen, Michele Korkowski, Charlie Roche, Mike Tischler, Jayne Turk, and Chris Vancil. Dr. Char Perlas, Donna Farris, Debbie Dutcher, Cyndi Leonard, and Sarah Kirby also attended the meeting.

A. Public Comments

- **a.** No public comments were given.
- B. Action / Discussion Items
 - a. ASCCC Secretary, Cheryl Aschenbauch, discussed participatory governance -
 - Outlined faculty role and responsibilities in governance
 - 1. Described the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC)
 - 2. Details that the Academic Senate Authority comes from:
 - a. Education Code
 - i. Always takes precedence over Title 5
 - *ii.* Role of the Academic Senate: "The governing board shall...ensure...the right of academic senates to assume *primary responsibility for making recommendations* in the areas of *curriculum* and *academic standards*
 - b. Title 5 Regulations
 - i. Division 6 applies to California Community Colleges
 - ii. Role of Academic Senate: "Academic senate means an organization whose primary function is to *make recommendations* with respect to *academic and professional matters*
 - iii. Collegial Consultation Defined
 - When the governing board elects to *rely primarily* upon the advice of the academic senate, recommendations will be accepted. If a recommendation is not accepted, the governing board, upon request of academic senate, will communicate its reasons in writing.
 - 2. When the governing board elects to *mutually agree* with the senate, and agreement has not been reached, existing policy remains in place

<u>Academic Senate Officers</u>: President: Jayne Turk Secretary: Andrea Craddock At Large: Maria Fernandez

Vice-President: Mike Tischler At-Large: Ed Kephart Past President: Chris Vancil

unless district is exposed to liability or substantial fiscal hardship. In these cases and cases where no existing policy exists, the board may act only for "compelling legal, fiscal, or organizational reasons" only after a good faith effort to reach agreement

- iv. Title 5 subsection (c) defines "academic and professional matters" as policy development and implementation for the "10+1:"
 - 1. Curriculum, including prerequisites and assignment of courses and disciplines
 - 2. Degree and certificate requirements
 - 3. Grading policies
 - 4. Educational program development
 - 5. Standard or policies regarding student preparation and success
 - 6. Faculty roles in governance structures
 - 7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes
 - 8. Policies for faculty development activities
 - 9. Processes for program review
 - 10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development
 - 11. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon
- c. Locally developed board/college policies
- 3. Effective Participation at College of the Siskiyous
 - a. Do you know...
 - i. Where to find local policy regarding senate's role in collegial consultation?
 - 1. Which are the 10+1 are rely primarily upon?
 - 2. Which of the 10+1 are mutually agree?
 - a. Cheryl indicated that the first six items are typically "*relied primarily upon*," whereas the rest are "*mutually agree*"
 - ii. Where to find local policy regarding staff and students' role in effective participation?
 - b. Governance at College of the Siskiyous
 - i. BP and AP 2510 Participation in Local Decision Making
 - ii. College Council
- C. If you have any questions, you can contact Cheryl Aschenbach: <u>caschenbach@lassencollege.edu</u> or ASCCC: <u>info@asccc.org</u>

D. Adjournment: 4:30 pm

<u>Academic Senate Officers</u>: President: Jayne Turk Secretary: Andrea Craddock At Large: Maria Fernandez

Vice-President: Mike Tischler At-Large: Ed Kephart Past President: Chris Vancil

<u>Academic Senate Officers</u>: President: Jayne Turk Secretary: Andrea Craddock At Large: Maria Fernandez

Vice-President: Mike Tischler At-Large: Ed Kephart Past President: Chris Vancil