

Academic Senate

College of the Siskiyous 800 College Avenue Weed, CA 96094 www.siskiyous.edu/academicsenate/

Academic Senate Meeting Minutes

April 24, 2020 (Convened at 9:30 am) on Zoom.

Attendees: Shawn Abbott, Jude Baldwin, David Blink, Rhonda Brown, Liz Carlyle, Neil Carpentier-Alting, Wenli Chang, Dave Clarke, Hallie Coppi, Andrea Craddock, Katie Elwood, Maria Fernandez, Tim Frisbee, Mike Graves, Karen Harper, Jenny Heath, Ed Kephart, Ann Klein, Michele Korkowski, Shirley Louie, Charlie Roche, Ron Slabbinck, Patrice Thatcher-Stephens, Mike Tischler, Jayne Turk, Chris Vancil, Mike Wilson, and Carly Zeller. Dr. Sherry Ackerman and Sarah Kirby also attended the meeting.

A. Public Comments

a. No public comments were given.

B. Action / Discussion Items

a. **Grading Policies for this semester:** Jayne has been meeting with Dr. Char Perlas and Meghan Witherell to discuss revising grading policies for this semester due to the COVID-19 pandemic. They came up with this tentative proposal:

• EW (Extenuating Circumstance Withdrawal)

- 1. Make "EW" a faculty option for final grade (This will require a last date attended entry).
- 2. Convert all Spring term (or for certain dates) "W" to "EW"s

Incomplete

- 1. Faculty option to extend out to two years.
- 2. Can have "EW" as a grade if student does not complete work

• P/NP Option

- Extend date to May 15th for students to choose this option for the Spring semester
- **2.** Update website information to reflect CSU/UC acceptance for Spring/Summer

Extensions

- 1. Recommend extending these options through Summer 2020
- **2.** If emergency remote instruction continues (or restarts) these provisions should be likewise extended
- Patrice Thatcher-Stephens moved to approve this proposal. Rhonda Brown seconded.

Academic Senate Officers:

President: Jayne Turk Vice-President: Mike Tischler Secretary: Andrea Craddock At-Large: Ed Kephart At Large: Maria Fernandez Past President: Chris Vancil

- Rhonda Brown and Hallie Coppi expressed concern that students who
 receive an "EW" would be allowed an additional attempt at that course
 even though they were previously failing it
 - **1.** Jayne will add under the "EW" section that "EWs should not supersede individual program requirements."
- Jayne suggested we make the EW a blanket option for the entire Spring semester for all students due to equity issues
- Dave Clarke and Maria Fernandez advocated for allowing students to receive an EW after March 15th, but not before. They point to this date since this is when the campus shutdown in response to the pandemic.
- Chris Vancil called for a roll call to see who supported the "blanket" option, the "March 15th" option, or neither option.
 - 9 faculty voted for "blanket" option, 18 faculty voted for the "March 15" option, and there was 1 abstention. Both Dr. Ackerman and Sarah Kirby also voted for the "March 15th" option
 - Given the results of the vote, we will amend the "EW" section to state "Convert all Spring term (on or after March 15th) "W"s to "EW"s
- Chris Vancil pointed out that many of his students are not aware of the "EW" option. We will add under EW section that the "EW information should be available at the top of the webpage" so students can easily see the information
 - **1.** Dave Clark also suggested that Everbridge send out more messages to students about the "EW" option. We also added that comment to the EW section.
- On the Incomplete option, Maria alerted faculty members that if they are giving an "I" for an online course, they must give the DE administrators a "heads up" so they can create the necessary incomplete shells.
 - **1.** This option is not recommended for faculty members planning to retire soon
- On the P/NP option, Charlie Roche suggested we add "Additional dates for Summer TBD."
- On Extensions, Andrea Craddock, Maria Fernandez, and Jenny Heath all suggested that we should eliminate the second part that stated "If emergency remote instruction continues (or restarts) these provisions should be likewise extended." The reasoning put forth was that these grading options should be extended into Summer session, but we should revisit the issue in the Fall.
- Patrice put forward the motion to accept proposal with revisions, Rhonda seconded, motion passed.

Vice-President: Mike Tischler

At-Large: Ed Kephart
Past President: Chris Vancil

President: Jayne Turk Secretary: Andrea Craddock At Large: Maria Fernandez Here is the final version of the proposal that was passed:

EW (Extenuating Circumstance Withdrawal)

- 1. Make "EW" a faculty option for final grade (This will require a last date attended entry).
- 2. Convert all Spring term (on or after March 15th) "W"s to "EW"s
- 3. EWs should not supersede individual program requirements.
- 4. Please move EW information to top of the webpage and send EW information out through Everbridge

Incomplete

- 1. Faculty option to extend out to two years.
- 2. Can have "EW" as a grade if student does not complete work

• P/NP Option

- **1.** Extend date to May 15th for students to choose this option for the Spring semester
- 2. Additional dates for Summer TBD.
- **3.** Update website information to reflect CSU/UC acceptance for Spring/Summer

Extensions

- 1. Recommend extending these options through Summer 2020
- Jayne will shared this Grading policy proposal with Dr. Char Perlas,
 Melissa Green, and Meghan Witherell.
- **b.** Academic Senate Nominations: Thus far, here are the nominations for Academic Senate positions: Ron Slabbinck President, Neil Carpentier-Alting Vice President, Liz Carlyle and Ann Klein Secretary. There are three At Large Senator positions that no one has volunteered for (Due to health issues, Jayne will not serve as Past President on next year's Senate Exec).
 - Rhonda Brown volunteered for one of the At Large positions.
 - Shirley Louie volunteered for another At Large position.
 - Ann Klein said she would run for the third At Large position instead of running for Secretary

Vice-President: Mike Tischler

At-Large: Ed Kephart
Past President: Chris Vancil

• Janie will notify the Elections Committee of the changes

C. Adjournment: 10:40 am

President: Jayne Turk Secretary: Andrea Craddock At Large: Maria Fernandez

President: Jayne Turk Secretary: Andrea Craddock At Large: Maria Fernandez Vice-President: Mike Tischler

Past President: Chris Vancil

At-Large: Ed Kephart