

Academic Senate

College of the Siskiyous 800 College Avenue Weed, CA 96094 www.siskiyous.edu/academicsenate/

Academic Senate Meeting Minutes

August 21, 2020 (Convened at 1:02 pm) in DLC Rm #3 (Weed Campus) and RHSI Rm #121 (Yreka Campus) & Zoom.

Attendees: Shawn Abbott, Jude Baldwin, David Blink, Natalie Bradley, Liz Carlyle, Neil Carpentier-Alting, Jesse Cecil, Wenli Chang, Dave Clarke, Hallie Coppi, Andrea Craddock, Marcy Demetro, Katie Elwood, Maria Fernandez, Tim Frisbie, Jenny Heath, Sean Kenny, Ed Kephart, Ann Klein, Michelle Knudsen, Tyler Knudsen, Michele Korkowski, Shirley Louie, Kim Parham, Ron Slabbinck, Patrice Thatcher-Stephens, Kirk Thomsen, Mike Tischler, Jayne Turk, Chris Vancil, Alison Varty, Mike Wilson, Carly Zeller and part-time representatives Sherry Ackerman and Sarah Kirby. Dr. Char Perlas, Cheryl Coppin, Kitty Kiem, Daniel Kealy, and Caroline Scott also attended the meeting.

A. Public Comments

a. No public comments were given.

B. Welcome Message from the Senate President

a. President Ron Slabbinck welcomed faculty to a new academic year. He noted many faculty attended ASCCC Institutes, webinars on Equity and Social Justice, and professional development courses in online teaching with @ONE over summer. Ron also thanked the previous Senate leadership for their work and input during the transition. Over summer, Ron attended weekly meetings with President Schoonmaker and ongoing meetings with the Vice-Presidents, Deans, CTA Faculty Union President and four members of the Board of Trustees. He will continue these meetings to create as many points of contact as possible. One of his goals as Senate President is to retain the authority of faculty over the 10+1 responsibilities and focus on priorities set by the Academic Senate. The role of the Senate Exec is to ensure the Senate can remain focused on its priorities and adhere to the Brown Act. Ron made a plea for everyone to read the agenda and minutes to be most efficient in meetings. He wants to encourage faculty voice by having in-depth committee reports and acknowledging the achievements and accomplishments of faculty work in meetings. Ron encouraged faculty to contact him whenever they need to.

C. Committee Reports

- a. Agenda has been re-arranged to prioritize committee reports and give time for faculty to report out.
 - 1. Curriculum: Chair Katie Elwood reported no updates since the Flex session earlier.
 - 2. Flex: Chair Patrice Thatcher-Stephens noted the changes in Flex since she was last on the committee. Vickie Donaldson is retiring in December and she is a key resource for Flex.
 - 3. Equivalency: Chair Shawn Abbott reported she will chair the committee until December. There are no updates at this point.

Academic Senate Officers:

President: Ron Slabbinck Secretary: Liz Carlyle At Large: Ann Klein Vice-President: Neil Carpentier-Alting

At-Large: Shirley Louie

4. Distance Learning: Chair Maria Fernandez reported that Jesse Cecil has another course aligned to the Online Educational Initiative (OEI) rubric. She encouraged faculty to participate in this excellent professional development experience. COS currently has five (5) aligned courses on the CVC-OEI exchange. DL committee accomplished a full set of goals last year and will be meeting soon to develop a new list. Proctoring, webcam use, and equity are key issues coming up in the DE Listserv for the committee to consider. Deadline for certification for faculty to teach online is December 31st. An in-house certification may or may not in place by this date so Maria encouraged faculty to sign up for the limited spaces in @ONE courses this Fall. Maria's role as DE Coordinator is limited this year so faculty should be aware that the DE support is also limited. It may take longer to get a response from her.

D. Action / Discussion Items

- a. Senate Priority List. Senate Executive committee developed a list of priorities based on meetings with Administration and items already in process. Vice President Neil Carpentier-Alting requested faculty identify three priorities so Senate can set goals to be completed by the end of the year. Senate Exec collected the responses from faculty in Chat.
- b. Vote for replacement At-Large Senate Officer Rhonda Brown, who recently took the position of Director of Nursing. Patrice Thatcher-Stephens has put her name forward to serve. On the recommendation of Parliamentarian Chris Vancil, Ron called a Special Election.
 - 1. David Blink was appointed to chair the Election Committee; Michelle Korkowski and Wenli Chang also agreed to serve on this committee. The election will follow the same procedures as last time and Senators will vote by email.

E. Good of the Order

- a. There have been many requests for committee appointments from Administration. Administrators have been invited to the first Senate Exec meeting of the semester and appointments will be on the agenda for our next Academic Senate meeting.
- b. Senate Exec will send out an email to identify a good time for Academic Senate to meet this year.

F. Adjournment: 1:52 pm

Academic Senate Officers: President: Ron Slabbinck Secretary: Liz Carlyle

At Large: Ann Klein

Vice-President: Neil Carpentier-Alting

At-Large: Shirley Louie