

Distance Learning Committee College of the Siskiyous 800 College Avenue Weed, CA 96094

DISTANCE LEARNING COMMITTEE MINUTES Tuesday, Oct 5, 2021 4:15-5:15 pm, via Zoom

A. MEMBERS PRESENT

Meeting began at 4:15 pm, PST

Present: Maria Fernandez, Alison Varty, Carly Zeller, Jude Baldwin, Kirk Thomsen, Elizabeth Carlyle, Michael Tischler, Sherice Bellamy, Valerie Roberts

Members Absent: Natalie Bradley, Anne-Marie Kuhlemann, Wenli Chang

B. PUBLIC COMMENT

No public comment.

C. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Baldwin moved to approve Sept 7 minutes/Thomsen second. Meeting minutes were reviewed. Question called: minutes approved unanimously.

D. ACTION / DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 1. Reports and Discussion
 - a. **2021-2022 Goals**: this action item was moved to first on the agenda. Discussion and results in the Action Items.
 - b. **Online Faculty Evaluation**—role in Canvas. This item was narrowed to address the immediate need for the revised Faculty Peer Evaluator (FPE) role in Canvas. Fernandez presented information on the different Canvas roles. The committee agreed on the following assumption: We are looking at course design primarily and for some minimum elements TBD in the near future via a standardized checklist. The committee determined the following permissions within the TA base role. The FPE will be able to:
 - 1. Announcements- view
 - 2. Conversations-entire class
 - 3. Conversations-individuals
 - 4. Groups-view all
 - 5. Disc-view
 - c. Title V Updates and AP 4105: Tabled to next meeting; Fernandez to put relevant documents and information in the Teams area for workgroup use.
 - d. SB 129 (data and planning): Tabled to next meeting; this item can be rolled in to the DL Data workgroup
- 2. Action Items:

a. **Approve 20-21 DL Goals.** Zeller moved to approve the goals/Tischler second. The 20-21 goals were unanimously approved. Workgroups for each goal will be determined at the next meeting.

3. Other Items: None

E. CLOSED SESSION

No closed session.

F. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting was adjourned at 5:15 pm, PST

Distance Learning Committee:

Voting Members: Chair: Maria Elena Fernandez,Int. DL and Instructional Design Coordinator Jude Baldwin (LIB) Elizabeth Carlyle (MLAN) Dr. Michael Tischler (FA/MLAN) Alison Varty (SCI) Carly Zeller (ASC) Natalie Bradley (DSPS) Dr. Sherice Bellamy (BUS) Kirk Thomsen (EMS) Wenli Chang (MATH)

Non-voting Members: Anne-Marie Kuhlemann, DL Admin Coordinator Valerie Roberts, Int. Dean LASS/Acting VP SS