# Foundation Board of Directors Special Meeting Tuesday, January 11, 2022

Generated by Carie Shaffer on Tuesday, January 11, 2022

#### **Board Members Present:**

Amy Lanier

Bruce Deutsch

Darlene Melby

Dawnie Slabaugh

Denise Mannion

Dennis Sbarbaro

Kathy Koon

Linda Romaine

Madeleine Ayres

Maggie Crowder

Rennie Cleland

Emily Anderson Moser

Char Perlas

#### **Board Members Excused:**

Ronda Gubetta

### **Board Members Unexcused:**

David Clarno

#### **Staff Present:**

Angel Keen

Carie Shaffer

## 1. Meeting Opening

A. Call to Order, Roll Call, Introduction of Guests – Meeting was called to order at 5:32 p.m.

#### 2. Action Items

A. Cradle to Careers for Siskiyou (C2C4S) – Ms. Slabaugh introduced Marie Caldwell from Siskiyou Works and Christina Van Alfen, COS Interim CTE Dean and current chair of C2C4S. Ms. Caldwell and Ms. Van Alfen gave a presentation on C2C4S and why the need for a part time coordinator.

There was a motion to support the contract to hire Marie Caldwell as the coordinator for the C2C4S committee.

Motion by Darlene Melby, second by Kathy Koon.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Aye: Amy Lanier, Bruce Deutsch, Darlene Melby, Dawnie Slabaugh, Denise Mannion, Dennis Sbarbaro, Kathy Koon, Madeleine Ayres, Maggie Crowder, Rennie Cleland,

Emily Anderson Moser, Char Perlas Not Present at Vote: Linda Romaine

#### B. Election of 2022 Officers - President & Vice President

The nominations received for President and Vice President were as follows: President – Madeleine Ayres and Vice President – Rennie Cleland and Denny Sbarbaro.

Motion to elect Madeleine Ayres as President of the COS Foundation Board for the 2022 year .

Motion by Dennis Sbarbaro, second by Rennie Cleland.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Aye: Amy Lanier, Bruce Deutsch, Darlene Melby, Dawnie Slabaugh, Denise Mannion, Dennis Sbarbaro, Kathy Koon, Madeleine Ayres, Maggie Crowder, Rennie Cleland,

Emily Anderson Moser, Char Perlas Not Present at Vote: Linda Romaine

Motion to elect Rennie Cleland as Vice President of the COS Foundation Board for the 2022 year.

Motion by Dennis Sbarbaro, second by Bruce Deutsch.

Motion Fails

Ave: Denise Mannion

Nay: Amy Lanier, Bruce Deutsch, Darlene Melby, Dawnie Slabaugh, Madeleine Ayres,

Maggie Crowder, Char Perlas

Abstain: Dennis Sbarbaro, Kathy Koon, Rennie Cleland, Emily Anderson Moser

Not Present at Vote: Linda Romaine

Motion to elect Denny Sbarbaro as Vice President of the COS Foundation Board for the 2022 year.

Motion by Dawnie Slabaugh, second by Bruce Deutsch.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Aye: Amy Lanier, Bruce Deutsch, Darlene Melby, Dawnie Slabaugh, Denise Mannion, Kathy Koon, Madeleine Ayres, Maggie Crowder, Rennie Cleland, Emily Anderson

Moser, Char Perlas

Abstain: Dennis Sbarbaro

Not Present at Vote: Linda Romaine

C. Eagles Nest Lease Agreement - Review the Eagle's Nest Lease Agreement Options. It was recommended by Ms. Slabaugh and Ms. Keen to choose option #2 – increase in rent to \$2,000 with the new landlord responsible for all repairs. Increase would not take place until July 1, 2022.

Motion was made to approve option #2 of the Eagle's Nest new lease agreement options.

Motion by Dawnie Slabaugh, second by Dennis Sbarbaro.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Aye: Amy Lanier, Bruce Deutsch, Darlene Melby, Dawnie Slabaugh, Denise Mannion, Dennis Sbarbaro, Kathy Koon, Madeleine Ayres, Maggie Crowder, Rennie Cleland, Char Perlas

Not Present at Vote: Linda Romaine, Emily Anderson Moser

### 3. Non Action Items/Reports

A. Date of upcoming Regular Foundation Board Meeting - Tuesday, February 8, 2022 at 5:30 p.m.

## 4. Upcoming Campus Events and Activities

- A. Martin Luther King Holiday (Campus Closed) January 17
- B. Winter Session Ends January 27
- C. Spring Semester Begins January 31

### 5. Adjournment

A. Meeting Adjourned at 7:00 p.m.