

Distance Learning Committee

College of the Siskiyous 800 College Avenue Weed, CA 96094

DISTANCE LEARNING COMMITTEE MINUTES Thursday, March 8, 2018 4-5 pm, DLC4

A. MEMBERS PRESENT

Meeting began at 4 pm, PST Shawn Abbott, Anne-Marie Kuhlemann, Zachary Zweigle, David Blink, Alison Varty, Mike Tischler, Maria Fernandez

Members absent: Jude Baldwin

B. PUBLIC COMMENT

No public comment

C. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Minutes were reviewed. Blink moved to approve/Tischler second. Unanimous approval of the minutes.

D. ACTION / DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 1. Accessibility Audit Update: Kuhlemann presented an update from CampusWorks, the firm selected to complete the accessibility audit of the LMS. The auditors were added as Canvas Admins, and would review 10 courses, which generated much discussion as to how this accessibility audit would occur. Abbott wanted the institution to put a positive spin on this audit, to frame it as a learning opportunity. Varty expressed concerns that the process had not been explained adequately to faculty. Dr. Scott dropped in to hear the concerns, and offered to speak to faculty at the next Academic Senate meeting. Fernandez would follow up with Wayne Keller to pause the audit until FERPA concerns could be addressed and so that faculty could be adequately informed scope of the audit process.
- Year of Inclusive Design was introduced by Fernandez. Committee discussion was positive and Abbott and others suggested the idea of creating badging or a certificate of completion for one or all of the workshops.
- 3. Second review of Third Party Content Policy: Abbott moved to approve/Blink second, the document was approved unanimously with minor edits. Fernandez will include the policy as Item 3 on the list of DL Recommendations for Senate Review/Approval.
- 4. First Review of Online Teaching Requirements: Fernandez introduced the document.

 Committee suggested simplifying the document to present the requirements and how the

<u>Distance Learning Committee</u>: Chair: Maria Fernandez Dr. Zachary Zweigle Shawn Abbott Anne-Marie Kuhlemann

David Blink Jude Baldwin Alison Varty Dr. Michael Tischler dates differ for new faculty hires and current COS faculty. Fernandez to revise for second review.

E. CLOSED SESSION

No closed session:

F. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting was adjourned at 5 pm, PST