

Distance Learning Committee

College of the Siskiyous 800 College Avenue Weed, CA 96094

DISTANCE LEARNING COMMITTEE MINUTES Monday, Sept 10, 2018 3:30-4:30 pm, DLC 4

A. MEMBERS PRESENT

Meeting began at 3:30 pm, PST Present: Shawn Abbott, Anne-Marie Kuhlemann, Alison Varty, David Blink, Maria Fernandez, Mike Tischler, Jude Baldwin

Members absent: Zachary Zweigle

B. PUBLIC COMMENT

No public comment

C. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Minutes were reviewed. Blink moved to approve/Abbott second. Unanimous approval of the minutes.

D. ACTION / DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 1. Determine meeting frequency: The group discussed meeting frequency and agreed that the sense of urgency that drove the meeting structure for the previous two years was no longer present. The committee voted to move to a monthly meeting schedule, the second Monday of each month from 3:30-4:30 pm. Additional meetings would be called as needed, and meeting time/day would shift to accommodate campus holidays.
- 2. OEI /Course Design Academy update: Fernandez and Abbott shared that they were currently going through the academy. Fernandez and Abbott noted how professional and helpful the OEI review process has been. Fernandez shared that we have a total of 9 faculty who started the course review process this summer. Fernandez stated that she would have more to share after attending the consortium meeting on Sept 14.
- 3. Approval of the DL Handbook to send to Senate: The group reviewed the document and recommended forwarding to the Senate for review and approval.
- 4. Ideas for next year's goals: The group discussed and identified goals for the 2018-19 academic year, including
 - a. Develop APs for Plagiarism, Third Party Content, & Proctoring
 - b. Clarify proctoring procedure for both Weed/Yreka campuses
 - c. TLC for faculty and students, possibly located in the ASC
 - d. Revise DL template language in CORs to reflect current Title V DE language
 - e. Explore program review for DL

Distance Learning Committee: Chair: Maria Fernandez Dr. Zachary Zweigle Shawn Abbott Anne-Marie Kuhlemann

David Blink Jude Baldwin Alison Varty Dr. Michael Tischler

E. CLOSED SESSION

No closed session:

F. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting was adjourned at 4:30 pm, PST