

Distance Learning Committee

College of the Siskiyous 800 College Avenue Weed, CA 96094

DISTANCE LEARNING COMMITTEE MINUTES Thursday, Dec 3, 2020 3:00-4:00 pm, via Zoom

A. MEMBERS PRESENT

Meeting began at 3:00 pm, PST

Present: Anne-Marie Kuhlemann, Maria Fernandez, Elizabeth Carlyle, David Blink, Jude Baldwin,

Michael Tischler, Valerie Roberts, Carly Zeller, Alison Varty

Members Absent: Shawn Abbott

Guest: none

B. PUBLIC COMMENT

No public comment

C. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Nov 5 minutes were reviewed. Blink moved/Baldwin second. Minutes approved with edits: add Varty to list of members present.

D. ACTION / DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 1. Fernandez presented Shawn Abbott Certificate of Service to DL Committee.
- 2. Action: approve App Whitelist
 - a. Zeller moved to approve Whitelist. Blink seconds. Discussion: Baldwin mentioned that VPATs for all apps except Padlet have been acquired. Carlyle explained Perusal and it uses by CAP as a social annotation tool. Question called: motion carries. The committee will continue work on the whitelist.
- 3. Action: Recommendation for Adding Director of DSPS to committee effective Spring 21
 - a. Tischler moves to approve Director of DSPS as new member. Baldwin second. No discussion. Vote: motion passes unanimously.
- 4. Workgroup Report: Zoom Legal Opinions/Guidelines for Fac and Students
 - a. Zeller shared that the ASC has Zoom specific etiquette seminars scheduled for the week before and the first week of school.
 - b. The group decided to review zoom guidelines and other Zoom topics in Feb.
- 5. Discuss DL Definitions: tabled to future meeting.
- 6. Other items: Blink raised general concern about "Proctorio issues." No further discussion.

E. CLOSED SESSION

No closed session.

F. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting was adjourned at 4:01 pm, PST

Distance Learning Committee: Chair: Maria Fernandez, DL Faculty Coordinator

Voting Members: Shawn Abbott (BUS) Jude Baldwin (LIB) David Blink (MUS) Elizabeth Carlyle (MLAN) Dr. Michael Tischler (FA/MLAN) Alison Varty (SCI) Carly Zeller (ASC)

Non-voting Members: Anne-Marie Kuhlemann, DL Admin Coordinator Valerie Roberts, Int. Dean LAS and Student Success