

Distance Learning Committee

College of the Siskiyous 800 College Avenue Weed, CA 96094

DISTANCE LEARNING COMMITTEE MINUTES

Thursday, May 6, 2021 3:00-4:00 pm, via Zoom

A. MEMBERS PRESENT

Meeting began at 3:00 pm, PST

Present: Maria Fernandez, Jude Baldwin, Elizabeth Carlyle, Alison Varty, Carly Zeller, Natalie Bradley, Anne-Marie Kuhlemann, Valerie Roberts, Sherice Bellamy, Kirk Thomsen, Michael Tischler, David Blink

Members Absent: None

B. PUBLIC COMMENT

No public comment.

C. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Zeller moved to approve April minutes/Baldwin second. April meeting minutes were reviewed. Question called: minutes approved with no changes.

D. ACTION / DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 1. Reports and Discussion
 - a. Website and Handbook Review Key Points (Committee): The committee discussed the Website and Handbook review; the student surveys, and committee member reviews. Preliminary points in student page: explanation of course modalities, more videos, screenshots. Preliminary points in faculty page: proctoring updates and professional development information
 - b.2021-22 DL Goals (Committee): The committee discussed OER's, curated resources from the Library (Ebooks, articles, etc); Fair Use Flex workshops; Prof. Dev. survey; proctoring/academic integrity; accessibility concerns; testing center; file storage for students and staff (One Drive for example); participation and drop policies.
 - c. CBA items related to DL: Fernandez asked members to submit potential CBA items related to online teaching and learning to Mike Tischler, FA President.
- 2. Action Items
 - a. Zoom Guidelines: The committee unanimously approved publishing the SiskiyousZoom course to provide tips and usage guidelines for instructors.
- 3. Other Items
 - a. None

E. CLOSED SESSION

No closed session.

F. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting was adjourned at 4:05 pm, PST

Distance Learning Committee:

Voting Members:
Chair: Maria Elena Fernandez, DL Faculty Coordinator
Jude Baldwin (LIB)
David Blink (MUS)
Elizabeth Carlyle (MLAN)
Dr. Michael Tischler (FA/MLAN)
Alison Varty (SCI)
Carly Zeller (ASC)

Natalie Bradley (DSPS) Dr. Sherice Bellamy (BUS)

Kirk Thomsen (EMS)

Non-voting Members:

Anne-Marie Kuhlemann, DL Admin Coordinator Valerie Roberts, Int. Dean LASS/Acting VP SS