College of the Siskiyous

Take a Class at Your Local High School

College of the Siskiyous partners with Siskiyou County High Schools to provide an Advanced Education opportunity by scheduling a college course directly located on a high school campus. Courses scheduled at the high school locations are open to all COS students. Contact your representative below for more information.

Participating High Schools
High School Contact Name Email Address / Phone Number
Butte Valley High School Natalie DiCicco ndicicco@bvalusd.org
Dunsmuir High School Lori Templeton ltempleton@dunsmuirhigh.k12.ca.us
Etna High School Anne Hilton ahilton@svusd.us
Golden Eagle Charter School Alana Althaus Cressman alana@gecs.org
Happy Camp High School Diane Oliver doliver@sisuhsd.net
McCloud High School   (530) 964-2181
Modoc High School Tanja Ramming tramming@modoc.k12.ca.us
Mount Shasta High School Barbara Porteous bporteous@sisuhsd.net
Tulelake High School Mike Kehoe mkehoe@tbjusd.org
Weed High School Monika Van Baren mvanbaren@sisuhsd.net
Yreka High School Jason Freitas jfreitas@yuhsd.net

High School Articulation

An articulated course is one in which a course offered at the secondary (K12) level has been deemed comparable to a specific community college course

Articulation courses can be applied to College of the Siskiyous (COS) requirements, but cannot (per Title 5 Code) be granted college credit, unless the student or course has qualified under the Credit by Examination process (see information below). Articulated courses can meet certificate and major requirements for some degrees (primarily occupational) at COS. This enables students to go directly into the more advanced courses when they reach college. For example, if a student were to articulate the WELD 1101 class while still in high school, they would be able to start with WELD 1102 once they started at COS. Students still need to meet full unit requirements for these certificates and degrees.

List of Articulated Courses

College of the Siskiyous currently holds High School articulation agreements for the following classes:

  • FIRE 1001 - Fire Protection Organization - Shasta Union High School District
  • WELD 1101 - Beginning Welding - Happy Camp High School
  • WELD 1101 - Beginning Welding - Weed High School
  • WELD 1101 - Beginning Welding - Etna High School

How to Claim Articulation Credit

Students who enroll at the College may be eligible to receive college credit for articulated high school course(s) after demonstrating competency as agreed upon through the articulation agreement. Students will demonstrate subject matter competency through an assessment method approved by the College's instructor(s) and appropriate educational administrator. The assessment method will be either an evaluation of a student portfolio or credit by examination as outlined in the articulation agreement.

Students interested in obtaining course credit will:

  1. Complete the "Articulation Certification Form - Part 1."
  2. The high school instructor or the College instructor will complete the "Articulation Certification Form - Part 2", depending on the specific articulation agreement regarding the assessment process.
  3. The College instructor shall sign each form, indicating agreement with the acceptance of awarding credit for the course and submit the forms to the appropriate educational administrator.
  4. The appropriate educational administrator at the College will notify each student of the results of the examination or the portfolio evaluation. The high school instructor and the College Registrar will receive a copy of the notice. College credit will be posted to the student’s transcript.

Contact

Christina Van Alfen
Email: cvanalfen@siskiyous.edu
Phone: (530) 938-5519