College of the Siskiyous

Equivalency Committee


The COS Equivalency Committee reviews faculty qualifications with respect to the Minimum Qualifications for Faculty and Administrators in California Community Colleges, commonly referred as the minimum qualifications list. It is a joint committee of Academic Senate representatives and District representatives per Education Code §87359 (b) which requires that the process, as well as criteria, and standards by which the governing board reaches its determination regarding faculty members shall be developed and agreed upon jointly by representatives of the governing board and the academic senate, and approved by the governing board.

Administrative Procedure

The District’s Administrative Procedure covering equivalencies is AP 7211 – Faculty Service Areas, Minimum Qualifications and Equivalencies.


5 - Academic Senate Members appointed by the Senate

1 - Administrator appointed by the Superintendent/President

1 - Member of the Human Resources Department to serve as recording secretary, a non-voting/resource member


Elected by the Equivalency Committee from among the 5 Academic Senate Members serving on the committee.

Committee Recommendations

Discipline recommendations and a majority vote by the Equivalency Committee are required for the Equivalency Committee to recommend forwarding the application to the Board of Trustees for final approval and granting of equivalency.


Reports to the Academic Senate.


Upon demand or Monthly.


Posted to the kiosk between the Learning Resources Center and the John Mantle Student Center buildings.

Committee Recommendations

Committee recommendations are communicated to candidates by Human Resources. Records of equivalency determinations are kept in Human Resources.

Committee Membership

Committee Chair

Shawn Abbott
Phone: (530) 938-5275

Academic Senate Committee Members

Jude Baldwin
Phone: (530) 938-5330

Michael Graves
Phone: (530) 938-5536

Michael Tischler
Phone: (530) 938-5322

Administrative Committee Member


Human Resources Representative

Nancy Miller
Phone: (530) 938-5359